>10 mins ago: Sunny, 67 degrees Now: Thundershower, 59 degrees

I live frugally in a 3-bedroom apartment with roommates – three in the bedrooms and one on the couch (after a spat with mom).

This roommate (CR for Crashing Roomie) helped me realize something in the past few days: I’ve been treating my cats way too nicely and became calloused to CR’s condition. Given a single thin blanket CR was basically shivering through the night for the last week and I did nothing about it.

Instead, I concentrated all my attention on the stray cat I finally managed to coax into the apartment, and making sure the other cat was getting attention and had a napping place for the night instead of the cold floor (my other roommate hasn’t bought a bed quite yet).

This created the situation where the roommate crashing on the couch became increasingly irritable.

CR also claims to be Christian, which further complicated the matter for me. I invited CR to join me in going to church, but due to the distance I got declined. As a result, CR has been watching a televangelist/baptist to “get filled”, which I have strong objections to.

This led to the point where I had to ask, point-blank, “I’m wondering to what extent this guy is acting and to what extent he’s preaching.”

And this is where I noticed CR’s irritation: “I’m not going to argue with you. I know him personally and went to his church.”

I stood around for another 20 minutes to watch him repeat the sermon topic “God will protect us. God will prosper us” (which was basically a repeat of the message last week).

Long story short, I bought CR a blanket and pillow, apologized for not getting it earlier, and asked God for forgiveness. It seems CR is in a better mood now.

In any case, the reasoning to the naming of this post was the inexplicable quickness by which these storm clouds came in, darkened the sky, and spat out a shower that made washing of the filthy city grime on my window quick work. I was reminded of the passage in 2 Peter of Jesus’ second coming:

But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare.

2 Peter 3:10

Leave a Reply

