re: Comment Commandments revisited/soccermomunplugged open thread

This is in reference to Comment Commandments revisited and the previous Pope to Muslim Fanatics: Why bother? posts in soccermomunplugged.

Cate implicates my comments in the “Pope…” post are inflammatory and purely malicious in nature.

– are inflammatory without addressing the issue of the blog

– are purely malicious in nature

Going by this definition of malicious, I fail to see where I am acting out of pure malice. Also, if the first few posts are any indication, I am sure that my characterization of your (Cate’s) generalized opinion of ME Arabs is on the mark.

I believe you (Cate) and I reached some sort of commonality of spirit at the “end” of our discussion, but judging by your last comment of the night, I believe it was built on false pretenses or a false unity, hence your post and following ban.

Allow me to illustrate:

No I didn’t forget that Jesus would know. But I am making the point that we all generalize. How aboutwe concede that we both reacted adversely to our triggers.

We are both probably on the same side of the issue anyway. You and I both want Muslims to be seen in a better light. Only I want the fanatics to stop doing everything in their power to reinforce negative stereotypes and you want President Bush and I not to generalize and create a hostile environment for innocent Muslims. Got it. I’ll make sure my Palestinian friend and her family feel welcome when they come for dinner on Tuesday evening.

Good night, Albert. (#97)

I take issue with this (the false unity) because it is a problem in the church today as it has been in the past. As a Christian who believes every motivation needs to be founded in Christ, it is a personal affirmation to pursue as complete of an orthodoxy and its logical orthopraxis as possible at all opportune times. However, when something else I find such as your site proves to be against my ideas of orthopraxis I will immediately call you out on it, without sugarcoating.

I think Christians need to do this, because generally, they lack solid moral justification (or more commonly known as spines). Also, due to a combination of the political, economic, and sociohistorical (mass media conspiracy bias) factors many Christians in the US have fallen into a sleep-state dangerously imitative of the Weimar-era German church. This must be avoided at all costs.

[Whether it will be is entirely another story.]

This is why I see nationalism and allegiance to Israel as problems. They take away from worship and glory to God and instead seek to prop up non-living and rather transient things usually in opposition to God (see the Old Testament Jews).

[additional note: to Cate’s credit, she’s not a xenophobe. She’s a ME Islamophobe, but I wasn’t going to file that under another tag.]

2 thoughts on “re: Comment Commandments revisited/soccermomunplugged open thread

  1. This is why I see nationalism and allegiance to Israel as problems

    Might interest you to know that I also have concerns about allegiance with Israel. But that isn’t what you called me out on. It seems equated disdain for violent, fanatical Muslims as support for Israel. It is not.

    Reply
  2. Might interest you to know that I also have concerns about allegiance with Israel. But that isn’t what you called me out on. It seems equated disdain for violent, fanatical Muslims as support for Israel. It is not.

    Yes, I didn’t quite call you out on those things, although that’s what I should have done in the first place. I still stand by my original post and final posts, though – I don’t believe that highlighting Muslim extremism is going to incite a movement among ME Muslim passivists for reform. If anything, at least in the case of your intended audience, it’s going to perpetuate the idea that all Muslims have no sense of morality and all support fanaticism (which I argue against).

    (BTW, did you hear about the Palestinian woman who began protesting after her teenage son went on a suicide mission, only to have her house blown up in following Israel terrorist policy?)

    I’m glad we find a measure of common ground with regards to allegiance with Israel. In my case, I don’t find it biblically justified to support (as a nation) the nation-state Israel. I think the passage EB was referring to in his thread, “The Old Testament does say in Genesis that those who bless Israel will be blessed”, has become outdated in the sense that Israel as a nation-state is no longer supported by God. A spiritual antecedent and therefore relation of Christianity and Christians, yes.

    Also I’m not entirely sure what you mean by your last two sentences.

    Thanks for responding

    Reply

Leave a Reply

